Skip to content

identity loss

September 21, 2012

I caught myself by surprise today – a wave of resistance and grief at the prospect of giving up my driver’s licence from my home province to get a Nunavut licence. The words I first used for my resistance were about inconvenience and cost, but that’s not really what it was about. It felt like losing an important tie to home, to my own culture, to belonging. It felt like losing part of who I am in the world.

The Motor Vehicles clerks may not have understood why I needed to leave, feel and think it through before going ahead with the change, but they were not unkind.

May I remember this feeling when I meet resistance from others who are facing cultural losses which might not be visible to me, or chosen by them, or temporary or superficial. May I remember this feeling when I smell Friday afternoon alcohol behind me in the grocery lineup, and notice kids drawing gang lines between their groups.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

