Skip to content

it’s the people

November 18, 2014

Visitors to Iqaluit are sometimes (understandably) shocked to see a masked man patrolling town, often armed with a shovel, never wearing a winter coat. His name is Polarman, and he is known for clearing snow off driveways and stairs and standing up against bullying.

http://findingtruenorth.ca/polarman/

When I’m not in the Arctic, people who don’t know the North ask me why I live here. It’s hard for me to answer that simple question. “It’s complex,” I say, and often leave it at that.

One of the reasons is the people and our connections with each other.

I’m going to miss everybody waving at me as I walk down the street up here. Down south it’s going to be like being a total stranger again. I’ll have to gradually build up my reputation again. – Polarman

So I’m sad to hear that one of the first people I ever had a conversation with here is leaving Iqaluit. You made this a friendlier place for me, Polarman. May you be happy in the South.

Thanks for the interview, Anubha and Sara.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

