Skip to content

suddenly we’re singing

February 9, 2016

I’ve been uncomfortable with a colleague – something prickly between us. I asked this person to watch me while I did a new skill that involved poking someone who has some fear of needles – one of those moments of unvoiced vulnerability and courage which are so common in health care.

Suddenly she starts singing an innocent song from the time and place where we both grew up – a song that probably means nothing to anyone else in the room. I sing along. The patient is calm. The procedure is finished. My colleague leaves and we go about our days.

That shared cultural moment in a place where we are both outsiders felt so very sweet. It only lasted a minute. It was unexpected medicine, from an unexpected source – all the more potent because it came through someone I associated with conflict.

To whatever magic, grace or inspiration brought that song into that moment, through that person, I am grateful. My heart is still open. My face is still smile-softened. Curiosity feels better than judgment.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    February 9, 2016 11:47 pm

    I love this reminder of those special moments that emerge spontaneously, forming a bridge of connection that brings playful delight and opportunities to know each other differently.

Leave a Reply

